Welcome

Welcome! This blog will be devoted and dedicated to all things genealogical & historical regarding the Vanderbilt family – descendants and relatives and ancestors of Cornelius “The Commodore” Vanderbilt. I decided to start this blog as my interest in the Vanderbilt family has increased over the past several years. Besides, I have worked at Vanderbilt University Medical Center for the past seven years – even more the reason for my interest. I love the Biltmore Estate, have been twice and look forward to the chance when I may get to visit again.

As I have searched online for information about the Vanderbilt family, I thought it would be great if I could locate one site where I could really explore the genealogy and trees of the family that was fully sourced.  Not really finding one, I am creating one myself. It is my hope that it becomes a source for others. Here goes the librarian in me again — Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Welcome

  1. It’s so great that you’re doing this – I live in England and have become interested in the Vanderbilts only recently after watching a short documentary segment on the Newport mansions. After extensive online searches I’ve been desperately after information about the whole family. The Gilded Age is such a fascinating time and, of course, it’s incredibly interesting to find out what happened to the family after that.

    Reply
  2. Vivian (Bobbi) No posts since Dec. 7, 2008, perhaps this is another dead end. Please let me know, I need help with this Vanderbilt Family. Thanks Bobbi

    This has been all consuming since June 9, 2009. Help – as I have not been able to accidentally run into the right sight.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

