Searching Sunday – June 8, 2008

Searching Sunday posts will be dedicated to blogging about tracking the Vanderbilts through census records.

As I reviewed my files for the Commodore in the census, I realized I only had him marked in the 1850 census. Well, I have work to do since he didn’t die until 1877.

I looked in 1860, but as I did not find him there. I think I found his wife Sophia, but I want to do some more checking before I say it is her conclusively. I did find the Commodore in 1870 though with his second wife, Frankie.

In 1870, the Commodore and wife, Frank Armstrong, are living in at the home on 10 Washington Place in New York. Living with them is her mom Martha along with several servants.

Source Citation: Year: 1870; Census Place: New York Ward 15 District 5 (2nd Enum), New York, New York; Roll: M593_1033; Page: 120; Image: 241.

By 1880, the Commodore has died, but Frank (she’s indexed as Frances) is still at the house with her mother as well as her brother Robert and what looks to be his family.

Source Citation: Year: 1880; Census Place: New York (Manhattan), New York City-Greater, New York; Roll: T9_874; Family History Film: 1254874; Page: 546.4000; Enumeration District: 164; Image: 0255.

I have added these census records to the tree!

Leave a Reply

